Board of Trustees - Economic Research Forum (ERF)

Board of Trustees

ERF has a distinguished Board of Trustees. Of the total of 13 members, up to 4 (currently 3) representatives are from donor institutions and 7 members are elected by ERF’s Research Fellows. The remaining 2 members are appointed by the board for the purpose of maintaining regional balance. Representatives from United Nations Development Program (UNDP) and International Development Research Center (IDRC) have a place on the Board as observers.

Board members serve 5 year terms and can serve a maximum of 2 terms in total. They meet at least once a year, usually at the Annual Conference.

The Board of Trustees is responsible for enforcing the ERF charter, setting broad policies and priorities for the Forum and monitoring and evaluating progress of the network. The board also approves the Forum’s annual work program and budget as well as the selection of Fellows. It appoints committees for a specific purposes, such as the Advisory Committee, which is responsible for considering new fellow nominations.


Present Board of Trustees

Al-HamadBOTAbdlatif Al-Hamad (Chairman)
Arab Fund for Economic and Social Development (AFESD), Kuwait
Frey_BOTBenjamin Frey
Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation, Egypt
FS_BOTFatima Al Shamsi
Paris-Sorbonne University Abu Dhabi, UAE
SM_BOTSamir Makdisi
American University of Beirut, Lebanon
HA_BOTHassan Aly
Ohio State University, USA
Sue Szabo Senior management Susanne Szabo (Observer)
International Development Research Center (IDRC), Canada
RA_BOTRagui Assaad
University of Minnesota, USA
AT_BOTAysit Tansel
Middle East Technical University, Turkey
MC_BOTMouna Cherkaoui
University Mohamed V, Morocco
ST_BOTSubidey Togan
Bilkent University, Turkey
SD_BOTShantayanan Devarajan
World Bank, USA
MZ_BOTMona Zulficar
Zulficar Partners, Egypt
HE_BOTHadi Esfahani
University of Illinois, USA